The gate house is a unique and important landmark in the history and occupation of Great North Road and Western Springs. It is located at the north western edge of the Chamberlain Park golf course. The site was previously occupied by the Old Stone Jug pub and hostelry built in 1858 and demolished in 1938. Stone from the demolished building was reused to construct the gate house.
Archifact was commissioned to undertake a condition assessment in forming the first step towards appropriate conservation of the gate house, followed by the preparation of a scope of work illustrating a range of necessary, optional and additional work recommended to conserve the structure for potential future use.
The gate house has now been successfully conserved in accordance with ICOMOS NZ principles.